VIENNA, VA. — July 10, 2018 —

The Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO) recently announced incoming leadership to the Association’s Executive Committee for 2018-2019. Kelly Ranum was named President-Elect, Kirk Mizelle was named Secretary-Treasurer, and Dr. Harry Wilkins was named Medical Advisor-Elect.

Kelly Ranum is the Executive Director at Louisiana Organ Procurement Agency (LOPA), the organ procurement organization (OPO) for Louisiana. She began her OPO career as a recovery coordinator at LOPA and within five short years she named CEO. Ms. Ranum has held various active roles within AOPO as an Executive Committee Liaison to many of the councils as well as membership to the AOPO Legislative & Regulatory Affairs Committee and the Nominating Committee. She will serve a three-year term as President-Elect, President, and Immediate Past President, respectively.

[divider height= 30 line=””]

Kirk Mizelle has worked in health care finance for more than 22 years. For the past 18 years, Kirk has served as the Chief Financial Officer for Carolina Donor Services (CDS), leading the organization’s finance and human resources departments. Mr. Mizelle has been active in several AOPO councils he will serve a two-year term as Secretary-Treasurer.

[divider height= 30 line=””]

Dr. Harry Wilkins III was named the Administrative Medical Director for Midwest Transplant Network in 2014. In addition to his position at Midwest Transplant Network, he is a full-time Attending Acute Care Trauma Surgeon with Quincy Medical Group on staff at Blessing Hospital in Quincy, Illinois, a Level II trauma center and recently completed serving a two-year term as the Chairman of the Department of Surgery for Blessing Hospital. Dr. Wilkins will serve a two-year term as Medical Advisor-Elect and Medical Advisor, respectively.

[divider height= 30 line=””]

Returning AOPO Executive Committee members for 2018-2019 include: AOPO President, Diane Brockmeier, Immediate Past President, Charlie Alexander; Medical Advisor, Ronald Squires, MD, and At Large Member, Gordon Bowen.

AOPO would like to thank Marilou Donley, Secretary-Treasurer 2016-2018 and William Payne, MD, Medical Advisor 2016-2018 for their invaluable contribution to the Executive Committee and the Donation and Transplantation Community of Practice.