CONTACT: Jenny Miller
AOPO Media Contact

AOPO Names 2021-2022 President and Executive Committee Members

June 16, 2021, McLean, Virginia – The Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO) announced today the appointment of their new President and members of the Executive Committee whose terms will take effect July 1, 2021. Midwest Transplant Network President/Chief Executive Officer Jan Finn, RN, MSN will serve as President of AOPO, the nonprofit organization representing the federally designated organ procurement organizations (OPO) in the U.S.

Jan Finn

Jan Finn, RN, MSN, President/CEO, Midwest Transplant Network
AOPO President 2021-22 Executive Committee

As AOPO President, Finn will be the organization’s spokesperson and chair of the Board of Directors. As President-Elect and throughout her time on AOPO’s Executive Committee over the last year, Finn focused on promoting collaboration between OPOs to provide a unified voice as the national donation expert.

“I am looking forward to my tenure as AOPO’s President at this crucial time in our community,” says Finn. “We will continue to work collaboratively with OPOs and stakeholders to improve the organ donation and transplantation system. Our focus is on performance improvement to optimize every donation opportunity to pursue, recover, and transplant organs. This aligns with our recently launched goal to achieve 50,000 organ transplants annually by 2026. Through collaborations to reduce health inequities, maximize organ utilization, and drive innovation, AOPO is committed to saving more lives.”

Finn has 25 years of progressive management and administrative experience in hospital and organ procurement communities. At Midwest Transplant Network, she is responsible for executive leadership and promoting organ, eye, and tissue donation. Under her leadership, Midwest Transplant Network has increased donation rates and recovery of organs and tissues to new record levels each year. Finn received her bachelor’s degree in nursing from Pittsburg State University and her Master of Science in Nursing from the University of Kansas. Finn serves on the Missouri Governor’s Organ Donation Advisory Committee and community boards focused on promoting donation and transplantation. She is a past President of NATCO, an association for transplant professionals. Finn’s commitment and dedication to organ- and tissue-donation-related issues were recognized by AOPO in 2004 when she received our Achievement Award. Additionally, Finn was awarded the Quality in Medicine Award from Freeman Hospital, as well as the Kuhn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Nursing from Missouri Southern University.

Midwest Transplant Network has been connecting lives through organ donation since 1973. As the federally designated not-for-profit OPO for Kansas and the western two-thirds of Missouri, Midwest Transplant Network provides services including organ procurement; surgical tissue and eye recovery; laboratory testing; and 24-hour rapid response for referrals from hospital partners. Midwest Transplant Network ranks in the top 10% in the country among OPOs, which reflects the organization’s quality, professionalism, and excellence in partnerships throughout the region.

Finn’s professional and organizational achievements and experience give her the necessary skillsets to lead AOPO in its mission to increase organ donation and transplantation while honoring donors, their families, and those waiting for a lifesaving transplant.

AOPO named Lisa Stocks, Executive Director, Lifesharing, its President-Elect. In this role, she will lead the strategic planning process, collaborate with AOPO councils, and advocate nationally for issues impacting donation and transplantation. Lisa will serve as the AOPO President on the 2022-2023 Executive Committee.

Lisa Stocks

Lisa Stocks, Executive Director, Lifesharing
AOPO President-Elect 2021-22 Executive Committee

The full AOPO 2021-2022 Executive Committee includes:

President: Jan Finn, President/CEO, Midwest Transplant Network
President-Elect: Lisa Stocks, Executive Director, Lifesharing
Immediate Past President: Joe Ferreira, President/CEO, Nevada Donor Network
Secretary-Treasurer: Barry Massa, Executive Director, LifeCenter Organ Donor Network
Medical Advisor: Glen Franklin, MD, Medical Director, Kentucky Organ Donor Affiliates
Medical Advisor-Elect: Marty Sellers, MD, LifeLink of Georgia
At-Large Member: Kyle Herber, President/CEO, Live On Nebraska
OPO Member Representative: Colleen McCarthy, Chief of Staff and VP of Organ and Tissue Donation, Versiti Organ & Tissue
OPO Member Representative: Sarah Fewell, Chief Clinical Officer, Iowa Donor Network
OPO Member Representative: Kurt Shutterly, Chief Operating Officer, Center for Organ Recovery & Education
OPO Member Representative: Rick Hasz, VP Clinical Services, Gift of Life Donor Program


AOPO is saving and improving lives through organ, eye, and tissue donation, leading the nation’s OPO community through innovation, advocacy, and education. AOPO advances organ donation and transplantation by driving continual improvement, collaborating with stakeholders, and sharing successful practices with OPO members.