Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

November 2, 2023

The Honorable Chiquita Brooks-LaSure Administrator Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Department of Health and Human Services 7500 Security Boulevard Baltimore, MD 21244

Dear Administrator Brooks-LaSure:

We write today regarding the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) final rule, titled, "Medicare and Medicaid Programs: Organ Procurement Organizations (OPO) Conditions for Coverage: Revisions to the Outcome Measure Requirements for Organ Procurement Organizations; Final Rule," (OPO Final Rule).

OPOs are organizations responsible for evaluating and procuring organs for transplant from deceased donors. The rule revised the method by which CMS measures the performance of OPOs for purposes of recertification. Effective for the 2026 recertification cycle, OPOs will be measured every year on their relative performance on two outcome measures – (1) Donation Rates – the number of organs from the donation service area (DSA) that are donated as a percentage of potential donors; and (2) Transplantation Rates – the number of organs from the DSA that are transplanted as a percentage of potential donors.

The Final Rule is complex, and accordingly, there are numerous unanswered questions regarding how this process will work relating to the ground rules for competition, the process that will be followed for OPOs that want to acquire decertified OPOs, and how to engage in proactive mergers. It is urgent that CMS implement the OPO Final Rule effectively, without weakening standards put in place to protect patients and without delay.

Notably, this process is entering a high level of activity as the decertification of OPOs in 2026 is based on calendar year (CY) 2024 performance, and OPOs are still without guidance from CMS regarding the details of how the OPO recertification and competition processes will be administered.

We request that CMS immediately prioritize this issue and provide comprehensive guidance regarding how the final rule will be implemented. We respectfully request answers to the following questions:

- 1. Is CMS considering any policies to help ensure successful transitions, so that all patients are served by high performing OPOs?
- 2. If no OPO seeks to assume the operations of a decertified OPO's DSA, how will CMS decide to which higher-performing OPO to assign that DSA? Conversely, how will CMS determine which of several high-performing OPOs interested in taking over a newly opened DSA will be selected?

- 3. After a winning OPO candidate is selected, how long will the OPO have to take over operations in the DSA of the decertified OPO? Will there be a defined transition period?
- 4. Will there be a certain timeframe within the decertification cycle when mergers can or must occur?
- 5. If a merger occurs during or after the reporting year, will the OPOs and/or the DSAs be evaluated separately or jointly for recertification?
- 6. Suppose a single OPO manages multiple DSAs, and one falls into Tier 2 or 3. Will this negatively impact the OPO's ability to maintain its other existing DSAs, or to take on new DSAs in the future?
- 7. Will CMS consider offering time-limited protections to permit OPOs that take over another DSA enough time to get improvements in place without jeopardizing the higher tier work that is taking place in their OPO?

We appreciate your attention to this request.

Sincerely,

mariannette (Thicker The Mariannette Miller-Meeks,

M.D. Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

chroo

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Canta Robert <

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Eucher

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

und 2

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Hanscharge Diana

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Suzar K. DelBene Member of Congress

Muh h

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Ril Gascrill

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

ae d)insel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Bernie Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

DINO

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Kiggans Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

hu W Koze

John Rose Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

ĪV

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Kieda

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

ac Ronny L. Jackson, M.D.

May Sattles Pettola

Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

vest

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Monica De La Cruz

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress

Member of Congress

m R. U.

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress